A Remote Server “Deployed Hello World” with Squeak/Pharo, Seaside and Ubuntu Linux

There are several excellent Squeak and Seaside “Hello World” tutorials out there, that walk you through downloading the Squeak Smalltalk environment, loading the Seaside web framework, and doing a basic “Hello World” web app on your web browser, running in localhost. Here are some of my favorites:

Now, what if you’re ready to take the next step? What if you’ve written a web application in Seaside, and would like to push a beta version out there, for the world to see? How do you get your Seaside app onto a remote server, and responding to an actual request to http://www.yourhelloworld.com?

In the next series of posts, I will walk you through the steps required to roll your code to your remote server. This is by no means a battle-hardened production ready deployment process. I’ve pieced this together from various scattered documentation, and through trial and error, and hopefully it will save you some minutes of research and some frustration.

Table of Contents:

Stay Tuned!

3 thoughts on “A Remote Server “Deployed Hello World” with Squeak/Pharo, Seaside and Ubuntu Linux

  1. Brilliant! Just what I am looking for.

    Could I ask you to add one more item to your table of contents? I would love to see how you build in authentication, i.e. login/username management.

  2. Thanks very much. I would really appreciate that.

    Coming from a Lotus Domino world – where the user directory management is rolled right into the product – I have been scratching my head about the best way to do this.

    Given how important it is, I didn’t want to just invent my own approach in case it opened up a whole slew of security holes.

Comments are closed.